The physical impossibility of death in the mind of someone living

Today I shall be indulging you.. (Erotic) in a little bit of modern art. Now dont moan and groan. Most of you clever people should know by now that art isn’t all about old paintings and statues. In fact if you DONT know that then you need to GTFO. <- Thats a bit of modern art for you. Internet talk.

ANYWAY. Back in the day when I was at Church High I walked past the art rooms and on one of the doors was a picture of a shark inside a tank. Now at the time I thought this was well.. a bit of an unusual thing but I didn’t pay much attention to it. So the days went on and I.. eh.. failed my education. BUT (Now bear with me because I can’t actually remember how I became obsessed with this artwork) all I remember is I was playing a pub quiz game with Dad and Lucy and one of the questions showed a picture of a cow in a tank. The question itself was about a man called Damien Hirst.

Straight on the internet I was to have a look at more of these.. well.. species in tanks. One of which stood out and this was the one of a shark in the middle of the tank. Like it was floating. Now I am terrified of sharks. Terrified yet fascinated. Purely by how big sharks can get. So you can imagine how this grabbed my attention. 😀

Have a little background detail!

The artwork was created by Damien Hirst and was created in 1992 with the first shark which was a 14 foot tiger shark. Its preserved in formaldehyde in vitrine. The shark cost £6,000 but the overall work was £50,000. Sadly due to the first shark being preserved poorly it began to deteriorate making the surrounding liquid murky (lovely thought) they then caught another (female) shark.. (poor things =[ ) to replace the old one. This was done in 2006! Some critics said that anyone could have done this artwork to which Hirst replied “But you didn’t, did you?”

There you have it. I do truly feel a bit guilty for those sharks.. but when it comes down to a piece of artwork it is pretty astounding.

=D Heres the actual thing below.

Hai reader! 😀

If you aren’t a great fan of sharks then sorry. It took me a bit of courage to make that full size. 😀 Anyway I just wanted to share that with you all. It interests me!

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Emma<3

~ by emmalulz on April 27, 2010.

One Response to “The physical impossibility of death in the mind of someone living”

  1. Very interesting. Cool post.

Leave a Reply

 
